Count Your Blessings for a Positive Mindset

Hello glamorous gals,

As you may or may not know, (seeing as this is my first blog post you probably don’t know), for a large part of my life I was in a rut, stuck in a life I didn’t enjoy living to the point where I couldn’t pull myself out of bed in the morning. This blog is created to show you how I changed and turned my life around to now being happy and content and how YOU CAN TOO, and one of the ways I did this was by COUNTING MY GRATITUDES.

Now I know what you might be saying, “okay we get it, we have to appreciate what we have already, but I’ve already tried this Natalia and it didn’t work!”
I hear you, I said the exact same thing when I first came across this method as well..but what if you were not doing it the right way?

In the beginning when I started this, every evening I would get out my ‘gratitude journal’ and I would ask myself: “what am I grateful for today?” and I would write down 3 to 5 things I was grateful for. However, I found that by asking this, my gratitude focus was too large as I wrote things such as:
‘I’m grateful I can eat’
‘I’m grateful I have a bed to sleep in’
Which HELLO, DUH we all know that we are grateful for these kinds of things, and I found myself writing almost the exact same thing every single day which, as you can imagine, became EXTREMELY boring VERY quickly.

Recently I picked it up again, and instead, someone told me to ask myself the question, as I cuddled up into bed and opened up my gratitude journal:
“what three good things happened to me today?”
I found that this question immediately broadened what I could say which would be unique and specific to that day. By saying one of the good things that happened to me today were, for example, that I became closer with a friend, I was focusing more on the details of the day.

unnamed

By writing three, JUST THREE, things a day, I noticed even my bad days turning into good ones as I saw that even on the worst days, good things happen. It’s easy to look only at the bad in the day, and after so long this is the method that has gotten me to escape that mindset and focus on the good EVERY SINGLE DAY.

Thank you all for stopping by my blog. I hope you will all start counting your three good things that happened to you each day, even if you don’t write it down. Feel free to contact me if you would like via the contact page, as I am always happy to chat.

As always, HAVE A GLAMOROUS DAY 🙂
Natalia Fox

Leave a Reply

